Skip to content

Exercise, and the illusion of health

August 3, 2010

Ok, I thought I was in passable shape.  Then reality set in.  I started off this July with a goal to get back to running.  Never mind the fact that I have not run because I wanted to in 20+ years, and had been treating my body like a tent, instead of a temple.  (bonus points to you if you know where that line comes from)  So with the extra time on my hands this summer, I started walking.  Hard headed me has been pushing this 43 year old carcass, and I have to say, the stamina is not all bad.  The body itself however, is going to need work.  Shin splints are the body’s reminder that you are pounding too hard.

Patience, Dear Jones, you will get there.  I have set a reasonable goal, complete the Mistletoe 5k in early December.  Post college life consisting of good food, drink, and a somewhat skewed work life balance has taken its toll.  So I have to be patient.  I will not ever regain that high school/college form.  One step, one day, at a time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 12:01 pm

    My friend, you’re in good company.

  2. August 5, 2010 5:31 pm

    You’ll get there. You’re already in better shape today than 2 months ago – just stay the course.

Leave a Reply

