Skip to content

The Passing of a parent’s friend, that I could say was a friend too.

November 17, 2010

Today, my mom, sister and I attended the memorial service of someone that was influential in my childhood.  I have been thinking back to the interactions with this person and his family, and how tight they were with my parents.  We grew up as neighbors, and there always seemed to be daily interaction between the adults, and to a lesser extent the kids.  What has come to light is the realization that the influences my parents friends had on us as kids.

As the service moved into the eulogy, I truly realized that my siblings and I were lucky to have the interaction we did with our parents friends.  A lot of times, these people were the parents of our own friends, and if not BFF’s, then definitely more than just acquaintances.  The real impact of these people was the welcoming warmth of their homes.  Some were neighbors, others we traveled with, or met up with on weekends.  All, had various impacts on our lives, and we, as reinforced today, loved them as our own parents.

So it makes me think if I am giving my son that same privilege.  When he is my age, will he feel the same way about my group of friends, and their kids?  In all of the structured activities, have we lost that much touch with our own friends, that we just dont get together and hang out any more as families?  Our generations, and schedules and lives are different, yet the need for those bonds may be stronger than ever.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:06 am

    Thank you – Beautifully written and expressed perfectly.

    • November 18, 2010 9:38 pm

      Thanks sis. I have been stewing on that one for days, and I appreciate your words. I can think of just little things they did to include us, and how big they seem now.

Leave a Reply

