Skip to content

Libraries in Forsyth County, NC

February 9, 2011

We have got to get our Commissioners to realize the importance of moving forward now with the issuance of bonds, and the full steam ahead planning of the new Central Library, and renovations to the others.  I do believe that the economy has our elected leaders so scared of any risk, they have forgotten that knowledge and the ability to access it is what will get our local economy back on track.  Yes I know that the ribbon cutting for the new library is a ways off even if designs were in hand and permits being let today.  But, we are losing out every day these resources are not available to our citizens.  I want to point to this article that ran in yesterday’s Wall Street Journal.  Alexandria Egypt.  What is being protected, the library.  A country in turmoil is banding together to protect it’s library, from damage and looking.  Even the most conservative leader in Egypt is aware of the importance of the information contained in those walls.

I am beginning to think that the Forsyth County Commissioners are scared of an educated populace.  I challenge each Commissioner to publicly state a personal position of why these bonds, that we the citizens authorized by popular vote, have not been scheduled to be issued.  I want a frank, detailed reason of why you each think it is not a good idea, and are blocking the path.  Convince me with facts, not party line political rhetoric.  I, a voter in Winston Salem, NC, am calling you out.  Prove to me your argument.  Sell me on it.

It is appalling to me that the education of our children and adults is the first thing to be sacrificed in lean times.  Seems to me a new library would help the struggling school systems by ensuring access to information to all.  That is a whole ‘nother post.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

