Skip to content

Connections, and people

February 28, 2011

Over the last few weeks, I have taken to plopping my job searching self in a coffee shop.  It gets me out of the house, where too many distractions (ie honey-do’s) keep smacking me across the attention span, and I do not concentrate on the job search like I should.  So I found a comfy place in a neighborhood shop.  One good thing, maybe, is its not my neighborhood.  The shop I haunt is in an older neighborhood in Winston Salem, on a busy mix of medical, residential, and commercial buildings, on a little two lane street.  Its the perfect convergence of old and new Winston Salem.  Great mix of professionals, ne’er do wells, and just your average folks.

What has struck me the most, is how Sarah and Justin, the owners, have created a welcoming, fun place to gather.  They are warm, quick to say hello, and usually have a great story to tell.  For the customer that wants to talk coffee, they know their bean too!  Its all around a good hub for connections.  The atmosphere is that of openness.  Eavesdropping and inserting yourself into the table behind you conversation is encouraged.  Making connections is what builds community, and community is what we need in these times.  We need all stripes of people to be expressive, and understanding.    People helping people, as a friend of mine says.  Next time you are needing some connections, drop into a local.  Observe, and interject, you may just be surprised at what you learn.

Pick a dog friendly one.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:42 am

    I believe I recognize that venue. It’s become my default meeting space in Winston; great location, great atmosphere and excellent coffee.

  2. February 28, 2011 6:09 pm

    I believe you’re at the coffee shop a mile down the street from me — eh? If so, Neil loves that place. Absolutely loves it. I wish I could go in without experiencing a catastrophic migraine within seconds.

  3. March 21, 2011 9:19 pm

    I believe you stole my mayorship. :::scowls:::: I do like that place though. And now I must try this Mayan mocha you speak of!

Leave a Reply

